Helping Others To Help Yourself

Helping Others To Help Yourself

It’s has been done before. The same types of blog posts about helping others around the world or in your own community. I want this one to be different.
“The best way you find yourself is to lose yourself in the service of others.”- Gandhi
Today in my Environmental Science AP class we talked about hunger and Genetically Modified Crops. Our teacher showed us a TED Talk video about ending hunger. This video spoke a lot to me because of the progress of the world as well as the lack of progress. I believe in helping everyone who is in need. A lot of teens feel the same but unfortunately we are to young and inexperienced to anything- or so every adult says. When I was younger my parents were discussing something about how a person who had committed a crime should be dealt with. I said that it wasn’t up to us to administer punishment and mercy. My father then returned with “You haven’t been in the world to see enough of it”.
Is that true? I don’t think so. I have seen a lot in the world already. Mercy, compassion, caring, giving, love. There are people out there in this world that all they seen in people are those qualities and have those qualities themselves. It is lovely to see people show these qualities.
When I get older I want to travel to other countries to share these qualities with people. Everyone needs love and compassion.
I am a Lifeguard. There is a certain level of help that we bestow on people through our job. I want to show this help to other people in need.
So I leave you with something to remember. How will you make your mark on the world?
This is the link to the TED Talk:

XX Corinne

One thought on “Helping Others To Help Yourself

  1. kyangel17 says:

    Everyone seems to want to go to another country to help them. Look around you where you live now, see the hungry, the homeless, the unloved in your home town. Feed them, show them love, visit a hospital and find someone who never gets visitors, pop in and say hello to a lonely neighbor, visit someone in a nursing home. You don’t have to wait to make a difference. You can do it now. There are people all around you who are suffering, unseen, known to few. Find them and start making a difference today. You can do it.

Leave a Reply

