Lost And Found

Lost And Found

There is a disease that has been spreading among young people since the 20th century. It’s called The Social Status disease. This problem occurs mainly among teen girls but it also affects teen boys and is even spreading to Tweens.
WARNING: This disease can kill.
Not only does it kill confidence, pride, and self worth, it also can kill-literally.

Over the weekend I became sick and was stuck at home. I literally can not just lay around. I have to be doing something creative. I receive Teen Vogue every month and as I was reading it I began to look at it in detail. I observed the advertisements. Looking through them I realized that a lot of the magazine was about things that put girls natural beauty down. Even those advertisements that promote “natural beauty” have a hidden message of selling a makeup product.
That is just not right. Don’t get me wrong, I love this magazine. I love smelling the perfume advertisements, looking at the mixed matched clothes, and learning about the things celebs do.
We all feel the need to buy into this Social disease. We as teens feel the need and pressure to be what society wants us to be.
We need to stop trying to be perfect. It is impossible. You can only have a few qualities that society thinks is perfect. I don’t want to be perfect. I want to be me.
I want to be kind, compassionate, caring, loving, giving, a friend, a shoulder to cry on, a good daughter, a good student, a hard working person. Me. This is who I want to be.
We should spend more time being ourself than spending time trying to be a person that we will never be. That is a lost person. It’s time we find who we are.
I am average, but I would rather be a happy average then an unhappy perfect.
XX Corinne

Leave a Reply

