Light In Darkness

Light In Darkness

“It’s better to light a candle than to cures the darkness.” Eleanor Roosevelt

Recently we had a tragedy at my school that has caused a great sadness. The brother of one of my friends committed suicide on March 25, 2014. We were told the next day at school grade by grade. This has caused me to become very sad, even though I barely knew him. What people don’t realize is that our decisions that are made on impulse have the power to hurt those around us. We can sit around and wonder why he did it but we will never know.
The point of this post is not to sadden you or to be mad. It is to remember the memory of Juan Harvey.
I remember his sister sitting next to me at our Sweetheart dance and him walking up to her with his friend. He asked her if she would take him to a party and she said “I don’t want to go to a white party!” as he walked away mad.
This memory makes me laugh every time I think about it. She was in no way being racist but the way she said it made me laugh.
This event has had a great impact on me. When I get older I want to help others. I want to save others. This bracelet reminds me to see the light in the darkness.
RIP Juan Harvey
XX. Corinne

One thought on “Light In Darkness

Leave a Reply

