Louisiana Southern Stir Fry

1. First chop one white onion, you may use more or less than one onion-your preference.  2. Mince three cloves of garlic.

1. First chop one white onion, you may use more or less than one onion-your preference.
2. Mince three cloves of garlic.

3. Put one cup rice and two cups water in pot. Bring to boil. Reduce heat and let cook for 20 minutes. Turn off heat and put to the side of stove.

3. Put one cup rice and two cups water in pot. Bring to boil. Reduce heat and let cook for 20 minutes. Turn off heat and put to the side of stove.

4. Put two tablespoons of olive oil in skillet and turn on heat to medium.  5. I used most of the bag of frozen peas and carrots in the skillet with a dash of Tony's Chachere's.

4. Put two tablespoons of olive oil in skillet and turn on heat to medium.
5. I used most of the bag of frozen peas and carrots in the skillet with a dash of Tony’s Chachere’s.

6. Put onion and garlic into the skillet as well.  7. Stir the mixture sporadically. Continually stir until onion and veggies are soft. This took about 30-40 minutes.

6. Put onion and garlic into the skillet as well.
7. Stir the mixture sporadically. Continually stir until onion and veggies are soft. This took about 30-40 minutes.

8. Once the onion pieces and veggies are the way you want add in rice and stir.

8. Once the onion pieces and veggies are the way you want add in rice and stir.

9. Optional: Breaded Eggplant Cutlets. I fried on in a separate skillet. I like the brand Dominex to cook with.  After it was cooked I put the stir fry on top of the cutlet.

9. Optional: Breaded Eggplant Cutlets. I fried on in a separate skillet. I like the brand Dominex to cook with. After it was cooked I put the stir fry on top of the cutlet.

10. Used whatever your favorite sauce or dipping sauce on the side or on top. Sauce is essential to all my dishes. I love spicy sauces to add a little flavor. The sauce I used was called Wow Wee. If you live in the south or can find it, this is a great addition to your kitchen.

10. Used whatever your favorite sauce or dipping sauce on the side or on top. Sauce is essential to all my dishes. I love spicy sauces to add a little flavor. The sauce I used was called Wow Wee. If you live in the south or can find it, this is a great addition to your kitchen.

blog 015

Put It all together and enjoy!

You’re probably wondering why this recipe is suppose to be southern. It’s the seasonings I used. This isn’t a wide known recipe like gumbo or jambalaya- I just like rice, peas and carrots, and experimenting in the kitchen. 🙂 While I was making the mixture I forgot to put in two eggs, but I like it without the eggs. I hope you guys like this recipe and choose to make it and even put your own twist on it!

Ingredients:

  • 1 White Onion
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 frozen bag of peas and carrots
  • Tony Chachere’s seasonings
  • Wow Wee Dipping sauce
  • 1 cup rice
  • 2 cups water
  • Dominex Eggplant Culets, frozen (optional)

Happy cooking! XX Corinne

Leave a Reply

